Attorney for Driving Without a License
Serving clients in Lowell, Tewksbury, Middlesex County, and Throughout Massachusetts
While driving can be fun, it is also a highly regulated through statutes in the Commonwealth. Driving without a license is a criminal offense in Massachusetts.
How I Help
If you have operated a vehicle without being licensed or unknowingly let your license expire and have been charged with this offense, please call my office for a free consultation, and to learn how I can help.
Who Can be Charged with Driving Without a License?
To be guilty of Driving Without a License, the individual must operate a motor vehicle on a road which is dedicated to public use, as a highway, private roads under statutory authority, or park road.
Basically this means any operation of a motor vehicle by someone unlicensed, no matter where it takes place in the Commonwealth, can result in a charge of this crime. An owner of a vehicle who allows an unlicensed driver to operate their vehicle can also be held liable under this statute. The government does not have to show that the offender “knowingly” committed this offense.
If I Don’t Have My License on Me, Can I Be Charged with Driving Without a License in Massachusetts?
The simple fact that you cannot produce your license upon being stopped does not give the government sufficient reason to charge you with this offense. Usually the government will look into the Registry of Motor Vehicle records prior to making a charge.
Exceptions to operating a vehicle without a license
There are 7 exceptions to a charge of operating a vehicle without a license:
- Those who are licensed in other states and have been given a temporary license in the Commonwealth. This generally includes students who are attending a school within the Commonwealth and those who are simply passing through from another state.
- Person’s with valid Commonwealth learner’s permits;
- Person licensed in another state and is accompanying a member of the armed forces who is licensed in Massachusetts;
- Members of the armed forces who are on active duty and have a license elsewhere;
- Members of the armed forces returning from active duty, who are licensed in a foreign country (must be within 45 days of his/her return);
- Non-resident who is licensed in the state where the vehicle is registered (for no more than 30 consecutive days). If you remain in the Commonwealth for more than 30 days without a Massachusetts license you can be charged under this offense.
- Individuals who are licensed in states that will provide reciprocity to Massachusetts’ citizens (not for more than 30 days annually, unless he/she has a valid place of business in Massachusetts and is Massachusetts liability insurance rules are met).
What are the Penalties for Driving Without a License in Massachusetts?
Operating a vehicle without a valid license is a criminal charge in Massachusetts, and a conviction can result in a fine of up to $500 (or up to $1000 if the license was revoked) and possible incarceration. If you simply forgot your license (but you do have a valid license) you may be able to produce your license later and get your ticket dismissed.
The Importance of Fighting This Charge
Being found guilty of unlicensed operation can have a number of negative consequences. Besides the potential of jail and a fine, a guilty finding for this offense can result in a loss of license, insurance surcharge, and points towards becoming a habitual traffic offender with the potential or a long loss of license. If you are cited for this offense, appeal the citation, contact me to learn more about the options that may be taken.
Attorney Paul M. King has helped hundreds of clients fight these charges. If you have been cited or already arraigned for these charges, contact The Law Office of Paul M. King, P.C. for an experienced Middlesex County Operating Without Being Licensed Attorney to fight for your rights and help preserve your drivers license.
More Information About My Traffic & Speeding Ticket Legal Matters:
- Traffic Tickets
- Speeding Ticket Lawyer
- License Loss
- Criminal Defense
- Drunk Driving, Traffic Offenses & Tickets
- Driving Without a License
- How Can a Drivers License Be Revoked in Massachusetts?
- Lowell Vehicle Crash Fatality Statistics
- Massachusetts Car, Truck & Vehicle Fatality Statistics
- Lowell Requirement for Report Submission for Vehicle Crashes
- Where are Lowell Vehicle Accident Cases Heard?
- Lowell, MA Speeding Ticket Lawyer
- Andover Injury Lawyer, Criminal Defense & OUI Attorney
- Billerica Injury Lawyer & Criminal Defense & OUI Attorney
What Our Clients Are Saying About Paul King
“WORTH THE MONEY! I hired Paul King for a motor vehicle infraction and I am very impressed with his legal representation. He was professional, sincere, and did all the talking for me. He convinced the hearing officer and the magistrate that I was a safe and responsible driver. I was found not responsible and I would hire him again in the future!!”
Google 5 Star Review – L.B.