A driver’s license can be revoked or suspended for many different reasons. Most reasons for revocation or suspension do not actually involve motor vehicle offenses.
In Massachusetts, a driver’s license may be revoked for:
In Massachusetts and many other states, once a driver’s license has been suspended or revoked, it becomes illegal for that person to operate a motor vehicle. As soon as a driver receives notice that their license has been suspended or revoked, the driver has a duty to obey such an order until the time period for the order has lapsed. So long as someone who has received the notice on behalf of the offender, like an employer or household member, the driver is held to his/her duty not to operate a vehicle. The government only has to show that the notice was received, not necessarily that the driver had knowledge of it.
An offender can face fines of $500-$1000 and/or jail time of up to 10 days. For all operations under a suspended or revoked license that occur while the driver is not under the influence the registrar can extend the revocation or suspension for 60 days and the operator must also pay a larger fine to have their license reinstated. If a person who has had their license suspended or revoked is caught driving a car under the influence the registrar can extend the revocation or suspension for an additional year.
Even after the time period in the notice has lapsed it may still be illegal too drive. The operator must attain a reinstatement of his/her license. This process involves paying a reinstatement fee, which can vary depending upon the time and reason for the initial offense.
The Importance of Fighting This Charge
Being found guilty of operating a motor vehicle with a suspended or revoked license can have a number of negative consequences. Besides the potential of jail and a fine, a guilty finding for this offense can result in a loss of license, insurance surcharge, and points towards becoming a habitual traffic offender with the potential or a long loss of license.
If you are cited for this offense, appeal the citation, contact an experience attorney, and make your case to a clerk magistrate before you are arraigned. If you have already been arraigned, contact an attorney immediately.
Let Me Help You
Since 2002 I have represented hundreds of clients in a wide variety of criminal matters, including traffic and vehicle matters. Please call me for a free consultation and to learn how I can help.